{"href":"https://api.simplecast.com/oembed?url=https%3A%2F%2Fonestopshop.simplecast.com%2Fepisodes%2F287c3036-287c3036","width":444,"version":"1.0","type":"rich","title":"The 4 Cornerstone Metrics of a Profitable Ecommerce Business","thumbnail_width":300,"thumbnail_url":"https://image.simplecastcdn.com/images/d96561/d9656181-c271-413a-a817-170264dd45b3/f57d4e8b-e03b-4f82-a235-7ed16f65e474/1535378685artwork.jpg","thumbnail_height":300,"provider_url":"https://simplecast.com","provider_name":"Simplecast","html":"<iframe src=\"https://player.simplecast.com/f57d4e8b-e03b-4f82-a235-7ed16f65e474\" height=\"200\" width=\"100%\" title=\"The 4 Cornerstone Metrics of a Profitable Ecommerce Business\" frameborder=\"0\" scrolling=\"no\"></iframe>","height":200,"description":"Imagine you’re in The Matrix. \r\n\r\nYou’re wearing a black coat. \r\n\r\nYou have a slick hairstyle and set of cool shades to go along with it. \r\n\r\nAnd you’re asked to choose the blue pill or the red pill.\r\n\r\nThe blue pill guarantees to give your Ecommerce business $200,000 total revenue every year.\r\n\r\nThe red pill ensures that your business rakes in $100,000 in yearly net profit. \r\n\r\nWhich pill do you take? \r\n\r\nIf you take the blue pill ($200,000 total revenue), but you have no idea about your gross profit margin or the overhead expenses of your business, there’s a possibility that your business won’t be sustainable over the long run. \r\n\r\nSure, $200,000 in gross revenue sounds like a dream come true. But if your cost of goods sold and operating expenses are $210,000 per year, you’re in the red. \r\n\r\nBut if you take the red pill ($100,000 net profit) and your business raked in $50,000 net profit last year, you just doubled your net profit! \r\n\r\nYou can either reinvest your profit into your business or use a specific portion of it to use for yourself. \r\n\r\nEither way, profitability can dictate how significant the contribution of your business is in your growth as an entrepreneur. \r\n\r\nHow can you guide your business to actually be profitable? These four cornerstone metrics are what we’re going to discuss in today’s episode.\r\n\r\nEdit:  03:52 mark: $5 not $50"}